Early voting ends Saturday, 4 p.m.
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Aug 01, 2014 | 911 views | 0 0 comments | 21 21 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting ends Saturday at 4 p.m.

Bradley County Elections Administrator Fran Green said the voting trend is comparable to the early voting turnout during the days prior to the May 6 Primary.

In this round of balloting, voters will finalize choices for a handful of County General offices while also marking their selections in Tennessee State Primary races.

Although early voting ends Saturday, voters will get a final chance to mark their ballots on the traditional Election Day on Thursday, Aug. 7.

Early voting locations will remain in operation through Saturday, including the Bradley County Election Commission Office at the Courthouse Annex in downtown Cleveland, the BI-LO Shopping Center mobile voting site on McGrady Drive and the Bradley Square Mall location, the latter of which has reported heavy voting.

Candidates for the local races include:

- Charleston City Council: Walter Goode and Francis McCartney.

- Cleveland City Council District 1: Charlie McKenzie and Floyd Wade Jr.

- Cleveland City Council District 2: Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton.

- Cleveland City Council-at-Large: Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks.

- Cleveland Board of Education: District 3, Dawn Robinson; District 4, Peggy Pesterfield; District 5, Tom Cloud; and At-Large, Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill.

- Cleveland Mayor: Tom Rowland.

- Bradley County Board of Education: District 2, Vicki Beaty; District 4, Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee; District 6, Christy Griffith Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik.

- Bradley County Commission: 3rd District, Milan Blake (R), Johnny Mull (R) and Jeff Morelock (D); 5th District, Bobby Goins (R), Jeff Yarber (R) and Jack Burke Jr. (D); 6th District, Dan Rawls (R), Robert D. Rominger (R) and E.J. Laughter(D); and 7th District, Mark Hall (R), William E. “Bill” Winters (R) and Pam Edgemon (D).

- Criminal Court Judge: Amy Reedy (D) and Sandra Donaghy (R).

Constable, judges, sheriffs and other county office races were determined earlier this year during the May Primary [because no Democrats are listed on the Bradley County General ballot]. But, their names will appear on the August ballot as being uncontested.

Tennessee State Primary races include:

- Governor: Bill Haslam (R), Mark Coonrippy Brown (R), Basil Marceaux Sr. (R), Donald Ray McFolin (R), Charles V. “Charlie” Brown (D), Kennedy Spellman Johnson (D), William H. “John” McKamey (D) and Ron Noonan (D).

- U.S. Senate: Christian Agnew (R), Lamar Alexander (R), Joe Carr (R), George Shea Flinn ((R), John D. King (R), Brenda S. Lenard (R), Erin Kent Magee (R), Terry Adams (D), Gordon Ball (D), Larry Crim (D) and Gary Gene Davis (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (3rd Congressional District): Chuck Fleischmann (R), Weston Wamp (R) and Mary M. Headrick (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (4th Congressional District): John Anderson (R), Scott DesJarlais (R), Olyomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr. (R), Steve Lane (R), David R. Tate (R), Jim Tracey (R) and Michael S. Warden (R).

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 22): Dan Howell (R) and J. Adam Lowe (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 24): Kevin Brooks (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee Senate (9th Senatorial District): Mike Bell (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- District 9 State Executive Committeeman: Jimmy Wayne Bilbo (D), Steve Farner (D), Marshal Moser (D), John Stanberry (R) and Bill Landrum (R).

- District 9 State Executive Committeewoman: June Richesin Landrum (R) and Sally Love (D).

Several judge retention questions will also appear on the Tennessee State Primary ballot including the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and Court of Criminal Appeals.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections.com regar-ding absentee voting, or by calling 728-7115.