Bradley County early voting off to good start
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Jul 22, 2014 | 1176 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A rainy Friday was the first day of early voting in Bradley County, followed by a rainy Saturday as well, according to Fran Green, Bradley County Elections administrator.

But, even with less than pleasant weather conditions, voting during the first two days was fairly heavy.

In the May Primary, the first two early voting days yielded 1,522 residents casting their ballots for sheriff, district attorney general and many other races.

As of close of business, Monday, which was the third day of early voting, 1,571 residents have filed through the three voting locations set up by Bradley County Elections Office officials. During the May Primary, the first three days of early voting data showed that 1,758 voters had taken part in the election process.

Bradley Square Mall continues to lead in the early voting totals.

According to officials, 708 people have taken advantage of the early voting there while 470 have cast ballots for the August General and State Primary at the Mobile Voting Precinct at BI-LO Plaza on McGrady Drive. At the Bradley County Elections Office, a steady stream of voters has resulted in 384 ballots cast.

Early voting will end Aug. 2, for the Bradley County General and Tennessee State Primary to be held Aug. 7.

Candidates for the local races include:

- Charleston City Council: Walter Goode and Francis McCartney.

- Cleveland City Council District 1: Charlie McKenzie and Floyd Wade Jr.

- Cleveland City Council District 2: Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton.

- Cleveland City Council-at-Large: Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks.

- Cleveland Board of Education: District 3, Dawn Robinson; District 4, Peggy Pesterfield; District 5, Tom Cloud; and At-Large, Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill.

- Cleveland Mayor: Tom Rowland.

- Bradley County Board of Education: District 2, Vicki Beaty; District 4, Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee; and District 6, Christy Griffith Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik.

- Bradley County Commission : 3rd District, Milan Blake (R), Johnny Mull (R) and Jeff Morelock (D); 5th District, Bobby Goins (R), Jeff Yarber (R) and Jack Burke Jr. (D); 6th District, Dan Rawls (R), Robert D. Rominger (R) and E.J. Laughter(D); and 7th District, Mark Hall (R), William E. “Bill” Winters (R) and Pam Edgemon (D).

- Criminal Court Judge: Amy Reedy (D) and Sandra Donaghy (R).

Constable, judges, sheriffs and other county office races were determined earlier this year during the May Primary [because no Democrats are listed on the Bradley County General ballot]. But, their names will appear on the August ballot as being uncontested.

Tennessee State Primary races include:

- Governor: Bill Haslam (R), Mark Coonrippy Brown (R), Basil Marceaux Sr. (R), Donald Ray McFolin (R), Charles V. “Charlie” Brown (D), Kennedy Spellman Johnson (D), William H. “John” McKamey (D) and Ron Noonan (D).

- U.S. Senate: Christian Agnew (R), Lamar Alexander (R), Joe Carr (R), George Shea Flinn ((R), John D. King (R), Brenda S. Lenard (R), Erin Kent Magee (R), Terry Adams (D), Gordon Ball (D), Larry Crim (D) and Gary Gene Davis (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (3rd Congressional District): Chuck Fleischmann (R), Weston Wamp (R) and Mary M. Headrick (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (4th Congressional District): John Anderson (R), Scott DesJarlais (R), Olyomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr. (R), Steve Lane (R), David R. Tate (R), Jim Tracey (R) and Michael S. Warden (R).

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 22): Dan Howell (R) and J. Adam Lowe (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 24): Kevin Brooks (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee Senate (9th Senatorial District): Mike Bell (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- District 9 State Executive Committeeman: Jimmy Wayne Bilbo (D), Steve Farner (D), Marshal Moser (D), John Stanberry (R) and Bill Landrum (R).

- District 9 State Executive Committeewoman: June Richesin Landrum (R) and Sally Love (D).

Several judge retention questions will also appear on the Tennessee State Primary ballot.

Additional information can be found at rega-rding absentee voting, or by calling 728-7115.