Early voting opens Friday at three locations
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Jul 17, 2014 | 1672 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting begins Friday and continues through Aug. 2 for the Tennessee State Primary and Bradley County General Elections. Local election officials are continuing preparations for the regular voting day as well.

Several Bradley County candidates for office will be elected in general races after having won their respective primary elections in May.

Three early voting sites will be used, and their hours will be 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturdays. The sites include the Mobile Voting Precinct at the BI-LO Shopping Center on McGrady Drive, the Bradley Square Mall and the Bradley County Election Commission Office in the Courthouse Annex.

Candidates for the local races include:

- Charleston City Council: Walter Goode and Francis McCartney.

- Cleveland City Council District 1: Charlie McKenzie and Floyd Wade Jr.

- Cleveland City Council District 2: Bill Estes and Lasala Webb Upton.

- Cleveland City Council-at-Large: Jonathan Porter and Richard Banks.

- Cleveland Board of Education: District 3, Dawn Robinson; District 4, Peggy Pesterfield; District 5, Tom Cloud; and At-Large, Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill.

- Cleveland Mayor: Tom Rowland.

- Bradley County Board of Education: District 2, Vicki Beaty; District 4, Troy Weathers and Dianna Ball Calfee; District 6, Christy Griffith Critchfield and Tammy A. Magourik.

- Bradley County Commission: 3rd District, Milan Blake (R), Johnny Mull (R) and Jeff Morelock (D); 5th District, Bobby Goins (R), Jeff Yarber (R) and Jack Burke Jr. (D); 6th District, Dan Rawls (R), Robert D. Rominger (R) and E.J. Laughter(D); and 7th District, Mark Hall (R), William E. “Bill” Winters (R) and Pam Edgemon (D).

- Criminal Court Judge: Amy Reedy (D) and Sandra Donaghy (R).

Constable, judges, sheriffs and other county office races were determined earlier this year during the May Primary [because no Democrats are listed on the Bradley County General ballot]. But, their names will appear on the August ballot as being uncontested.

Tennessee State Primary races include:

- Governor: Bill Haslam (R), Mark Coonrippy Brown (R), Basil Marceaux Sr. (R), Donald Ray McFolin (R), Charles V. “Charlie” Brown (D), Kennedy Spellman Johnson (D), William H. “John” McKamey (D) and Ron Noonan (D).

- U.S. Senate: Christian Agnew (R), Lamar Alexander (R), Joe Carr (R), George Shea Flinn ((R), John D. King (R), Brenda S. Lenard (R), Erin Kent Magee (R), Terry Adams (D), Gordon Ball (D), Larry Crim (D) and Gary Gene Davis (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (3rd Congressional District): Chuck Fleischmann (R), Weston Wamp (R) and Mary M. Headrick (D).

- U.S. House of Representatives (4th Congressional District): John Anderson (R), Scott DesJarlais (R), Olyomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr. (R), Steve Lane (R), David R. Tate (R), Jim Tracey (R) and Michael S. Warden (R).

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 22): Dan Howell (R) and J. Adam Lowe (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee House of Representatives (District 24): Kevin Brooks (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- Tennessee Senate (9th Senatorial District): Mike Bell (R). No Democrat candidate filed.

- District 9 State Executive Committeman: Jimmy Wayne Bilbo (D), Steve Farner (D), Marshal Moser (D), John Stanberry (R) and Bill Landrum (R).

- District 9 State Executive Committeewoman: June Richesin Landrum (R) and Sally Love (D).

Several judge retention questions will also appear on the Tennessee State Primary ballot.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections.com regarding absentee voting, or by calling 728-7115.