Red Clay Reading Council celebrates young literacy
May 12, 2014 | 431 views | 0 0 comments | 29 29 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Every year, the Tennessee Reading Association sponsors the “Elizabeth Brashears Celebrate Literacy Awards Program.”

This year eight local budding authors were honored by the Local Red Clay Reading Council.

The students included Priscilla McGuire, Morgan Burris, Maggie Sauls, Hunter Goins, Kyndal Parker, Brenton Hesson, Raeley Farmer and David Cantrell. They are from Mrs. Connie Bancroft’s third-grade class at Prospect Elementary.

Each child wrote and submitted an original piece.

The competition is open to all students in grades pre-K through 12th grade. Original books are submitted to a local council. The books are then judged at the local level. The works of selected winners are submitted at the state level of the competition.

As taken from the website:

“In 1983, the International Reading Association invited state councils to ‘celebrate literacy’ within their states.

The then-Tennessee International Reading Association asked Dr. Elizabeth Brashears of Middle Tennessee State University to develop Tennessee’s plan for celebrating literacy. She envisioned a program for Tennessee’s children in grades K-12 to fully create and publish their own books right down to the sturdy binding.

In spring 1984, local TIRA councils were invited to submit seven books to the state. Olympic style medals, gold, silver and bronze, were awarded. However, Brashears disliked using the word ‘contest’ to describe the program, because her ultimate goal was to celebrate every student who participated.

Therefore, each local council was to hold its own celebration so that each author was celebrated.

Celebrate Literacy has evolved through the years.

A special category for authors in special education was added and the number of allowable submissions was increased to 14. In 2005, it was renamed the Elizabeth Brashears Tennessee Reading Association Celebrate Literacy Awards Program in her honor.

In 2009, eligibility was expanded to include preschool authors.