DeHart, Leslie and Shroyer are county teachers of year
by CHRISTY ARMSTRONG Banner Staff Writer
Mar 16, 2014 | 996 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
County Teachers of the Year
view slideshow (3 images)
The Bradley County school system recently announced its teachers of the year, and one of them has al-ready made progress toward possibly being named the Ten-nessee Teacher of the Year.

Each year, local schools choose their teachers of the year. From those lists, the school system names three system-level teachers of the year to represent all the Bradley County schools — one from each grade-level grouping.

The system-level teachers of the year are Debbie Shroyer of Taylor Elementary School, Jason DeHart of Ocoee Middle School and Cynthia Leslie of Bradley Central High School.

Leslie has also been named a finalist for the Southeast Tennessee Region Teacher of the Year with a chance to advance to the state and national levels.

The following teachers were named building-level teachers of the year at their schools: 

- Black Fox Elementary: Lee Ann Frazier and Janet Ownby;

- Bradley Central High: Betsy Gilbert;

- Charleston Elementary: Erica Shamblin and Laura Anziano;

- Hopewell Elementary: Chantel Harden and Suzi Swafford;

- Lake Forest Middle: Traci Branham and Sheryl Rollins;

- Michigan Avenue Elementary: Stephanie Jones and Rachel Miller;

- North Lee Elementary: Sherri Riggs and Chris Doan;

- Oak Grove Elementary: Abigail Duncan and Missy Chastain;

- Ocoee Middle: Stanley Green, Drew Ross and Judy Weir;

- Park View Elementary: Heather Hayes and Courtney Howell;

- Prospect Elementary: Jo Plemons and Jennie Davis;

- Taylor Elementary: Stephanie Rountree;

- Valley View Elementary: Amy Blackwell and Jane Rolison;

- Walker Valley High: Lisa Eulo and Alan Hunt; and

- Waterville Community Elementary: Teah Shope and Marybeth Hollomon.

Taylor Elementary School Principal Elizabeth Kaylor said she was proud of Shroyer being named a system-level teacher of the year.

She said Shroyer has been involved in many different things, including leading teachers in professional development events and overseeing projects like the planting of a literacy garden to better the school. Kaylor said Shroyer still manages to be a “compassionate” teacher to the students in her classroom and is “a true example of what you look for in a teacher.” 

Director of Schools Johnny McDaniel said he was proud of what the top teachers in the school system had done over the past year, especially while having to adapt to the continued implementation of new educational standards.

“They are representative of all the outstanding teachers we have in the classroom.” McDaniel said. “Our teachers are caring, devoted professionals. I appreciate the work they do each day to prepare our students to be college and career ready.” 

Bradley County’s teachers of the year will be recognized with a special reception before the April meeting of the Bradley County Board of Education. The exact dates and times for the reception and the school board meeting have not yet been announced.

Though the school system has listed the teachers deemed to be the best in Bradley County, McDaniel said it is important to note all teachers have very important jobs and deserve to be recognized for the roles they play in educating local children.

“We believe the classroom teacher is our greatest resource,” he said.

Ron Spangler, the principal of the school where DeHart teaches, and Todd Shoemaker, the principal of the school where Leslie teaches, could not be reached for comment before press deadlines.