Lee signs Ga. tennis standout
by From Lee Sports Information
Jul 19, 2013 | 707 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Krista Good
Krista Good

Lee women’s tennis coach Tony Cavett recently announced the signing of Krista Good from Marietta, Ga., and Garand Veritas Classical School.

Good was coached by Danny Carlson, Jimmy Petit and Colt Gaston at Atlanta Tennis Inc.

She is ranked in the USTA top 50 for Georgia and participated in various USTA tournaments, including Macon Southern Qualifier, Raleigh Bullfrog and National Open in Birmingham.

The new addition to the Lee program said coaches Henry Oliver at the Tennis Academy of Georgia and coaches Carlson, and Petit of Atlanta Tennis Inc. provided excellent coaching and inspired her to constantly improve my game.

“I selected Lee University because of its Christ-centered atmosphere and excellent academic reputation,” said Good. “I also considered Anderson University before making my final decision.

“As I start my college career, I hope to be able to contribute to the team as we enter the Gulf South Conference of NCAA D-II and hopefully have a winning season.”

An honors student at Veritas Classical Schools, she is the recipient of Lee Presidential Scholarship Award, and accepted in Kairos Honors (Lee University Honors Program).

Lady Flames win

another honor

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. — The awards just keep on coming for the Lee women’s golf team. The Lady Flames, coached by John Maupin, have been honored as the recipient of the 2012-2013 WGCA All-Scholar Team GPA Award.

Lee also received this special recognition in 2010-11 and 2011-12. The award recognizes the women’s collegiate golf program on all levels with the highest collective average team GPA, and includes all of the team’s student-athletes for the 12-13 season. Lee’s six team members had an average GPA of 3.955.

The Lady Flames once again beat out schools like University of Alabama, Dartmouth College, University of Louisville, Yale University, and Arizona State in earning the award for the third straight year.