College Briefs 6-23
Jun 23, 2013 | 699 views | 0 0 comments | 66 66 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Mary Elizabeth Spencer
Mary Elizabeth Spencer
TTU students named to

spring 2013 dean’s list

COOKEVILLE — More than 3,800 students at Tennessee Tech University have been honored for their spring 2013 academic achievements.

The dean’s list recognizes the university’s top academic performers. To be included on the list, students must be full-time and achieve a GPA of at least 3.1 on a 4.0 scale.

Local students named to the list included:

Blake Allison of Cleveland, James Barnett of Cleveland, Rudy Beaty of Cleveland, Christine Beck of Cleveland, Melissa Cumby of Cleveland, Frances Delaney of Cleveland, Dana DeLong of Cleveland, Shane Foley of Cleveland, Tanner Garland of Cleveland, Kayla Garren of Cleveland, Robert Giarla of Cleveland, Joby Haney of Cleveland, Jay Ivey of Cleveland, John Logan of Cleveland, Landon McCaleb of Cleveland, Rosston McDonald of Charleston, Stephenie McKinney of Cleveland, Marion McPhail of Cleveland, William Nicholas of Cleveland, Samantha Partin of Cleveland, Pratikkumar Patel of Cleveland, Cricket Patterson of Cleveland, Myles Powell of Old Fort, Amy Rauch of Cleveland, Kelsey Robinson of Cleveland.

A comprehensive university, TTU offers more than 40 undergraduate and 20 graduate programs, including the doctoral degree in engineering, environmental sciences and education. It is governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.

Morris given USAA award

United States Achievement Academy announced today that Nash Morris from Cleveland has been named a United States Leadership and Service Award winner.

Morris is the son of Jason and Shantae Morris of Cleveland. He is the grandson of Dan and Deanie Phillips of Soddy-Daisy, Bruce Whitten of Cleveland and Bill and Linda Morris of Cleveland.

Morris will appear in the United States Achievement Academy official yearbook, which is published nationally.

This award is a prestigious honor very few students can ever hope to attain. In fact, the academy recognizes fewer than 10 percent of all high school students.

“Recognizing and supporting our youth is more important than ever before in America’s history. Certainly, United States Achievement Academy winners should be congratulated and appreciated for their dedication to excellence and achievement,” said Dr. George Stevens, founder of the United States Achievement Academy.

The academy selects USAA winners based on the standards of selection set forth by the organization. The criteria for selection are a student’s academic performance, interest and aptitude, leadership qualities, responsibility, enthusiasm, motivation to learn and improve citizenship, attitude, cooperative spirit and dependability.

Spencer graduates Chattanooga State Community College

Mary Elizabeth Spencer recently graduated Summa Cum Laude from Chattanooga State Community College’s dental hygiene program. She has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout high school and college. She and her husband, Hunter Spencer, reside in Cleveland.