Abigale Dye receives VEC’s Lillard-Shadow scholarship
Jun 16, 2013 | 597 views | 0 0 comments | 79 79 recommendations | email to a friend | print
VEC’s Robert McCarty presents the scholarship award to Abigale Dye.
VEC’s Robert McCarty presents the scholarship award to Abigale Dye.
Volunteer Energy Cooperative rewarded four exceptional graduating seniors for their commitment to community service and their academic achievements by awarding them with VEC’s 2013 Lillard-Shadow Scholarships.

Abigale Dye, a 2013 graduate of Cleveland High School, was the recipient for VEC’s Cleveland Service Area.

Dye and the other three recipients were awarded $2,000 scholarships to attend the college of their choice.

Dye, the daughter of Scotty and Deborah Dye, also has an impressive record of community service that includes tornado relief efforts, blood drives, collected food and clothing for local shelters, working with Creating Christmas Memories for underprivileged children, and vacation Bible school at North Cleveland Baptist Church.

In addition to her community service work, Dye has maintained superb grades in her honors curriculum during her high school career.

She plans to attend Tennessee Technological University and study nursing.

VEC President/CEO Rody Blevins said Dye has shown a real commitment to serving others through community service, and VEC is pleased to be able to help support her educational goals.

“Our scholarship winners are the types of students who can look beyond their own individual wants and needs, and focus on the needs of those around them,” Blevins said. “These are the type of people who make communities strong. We are very proud to honor this new generation of civic leaders.”

Also receiving Lillard-Shadow scholarships were Mary Gordon of York Institute, Fiona Retzer of Cumberland County High School, and Alison Dyke of McMinn Central High School.

The Lillard-Shadow Scholarship program was endowed to honor the lives and community service of J.W. Lillard and Willis A. Shadow. Lillard and Shadow were dedicated to improving the lives and livelihoods of community residents through electric power. And the two were instrumental in the organization of the Meigs County Electric Membership Corporation in 1933 — the organization that eventually evolved into Volunteer Energy Cooperative.

To honor this history, an independent panel of education professionals judged applications for Lillard-Shadow Scholarships based largely on students’ demonstrated commitment to community service.