Local recognized at Auburn University President’s Lunch
Apr 29, 2013 | 1183 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
AUBURN UNIVERSITY – Cleveland native Laura Catharine Brittain received one of 13 President’s Awards and W. James Samford Jr. Foundation Awards presented by President Jay Gogue at the annual Auburn University President’s Luncheon on April 16.

The President’s Award and W. James Samford Jr. Foundation Award recognize one graduate in each school or college who has completed at least three semesters at Auburn with a minimum grade point average of 3.40, and possesses outstanding qualities of leadership, citizenship, character and promise of professional ability.

Brittain is the honoree from the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Other honorees include: Ashton James Richardson, College of Agriculture; William Lawrence Gregory, College of Architecture, Design and Construction; Blake Dean Jackson, College of Business; Amy Marie Howard, College of Education; Lauren Patricia McManus, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering; Mignon Denton, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences; Subin Hada, Graduate School; Kristin Jill Wallace, College of Human Sciences; Paul Bradley Slay, College of Liberal Arts; Denise Anne Sutter, Harrison School of Pharmacy; Kyle Spencer Owens, College of Sciences and Mathematics.

Other honors presented during the luncheon were the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards and the W. James Samford Memorial Scholarship.


For more news about Auburn University, visit http://wireeagle.auburn.edu/.

Auburn University has provided instruction, research and outreach to benefit the state and nation for more than 155 years, and is among a distinctive group of universities designated as Land, Sea, and Space Grant institutions. Auburn makes a nearly $5 billion economic contribution to the state each year, has more than 250,000 graduates and provides 140 degree programs to more than 25,000 graduate and undergraduate students.