Lee homers way to victory
by From Lee Sports Information
Apr 17, 2013 | 592 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Lee University photo
LEE SENIOR OUTFIELDER Corey Davis cracks a two-run homer in the Flames’ win over win the Bryan College Lions, Tuesday.
Lee University photo LEE SENIOR OUTFIELDER Corey Davis cracks a two-run homer in the Flames’ win over win the Bryan College Lions, Tuesday.
DAYTON — Mark Silva blasted a three-run homer in the second inning and Corey Davis followed with a two-run shot in the fourth in leading Lee to a convincing 13-3 victory over host Bryan College on Tuesday evening.

Silva and Davis finished with a home run, double and a single in four trips to the plate. Silva knocked in three runs and Davis two. Brady Renner was 2-for-4 with a double and an RBI and Brandon Rader chipped in with two hits, including a two-base knock.

Josh Silver, Silva, Davis, Rader and Renner scored 10 of Lee’s 13 runs. Derrick Pitts, Danny Canela and Karsten Strieby collected one hit apiece. Pitts also collected three RBIs and helped end the contest early with a three-run double in the seventh.

“Offensively, we did a great job,” said coach Mark Brew who earlier in the day watched his Flames drop to second place in the NAIA poll but improved to 37-9 with Tuesday’s win. “Silva, Davis, Renner and Pitts had some great swings.”

Clint Terry was the starting and winning Lee hurler. In 5 2/3 innings, the left-hander allowed five hits, three earned runs, struck out four and walked two. CJ Lusted worked the final 1 1/3 innings. He allowed just one hit, fanned one and did not issue a walk. John Cain was the losing Bryan hurler. In four innings, he surrendered nine hits, six earned runs, walked three and struck out four.

The contest was shortened to seven innings when the Flames put four runs on the board in the top of the seventh. Josh Harris had three hits and three RBIs for the losers, while Grant Zawadzki added two hits to Bryan’s 10-hit total. The Lions were guilty of five errors.

“Terry was good on the mound and CJ also looked good in wrapping up the victory,” noted Brew. “We need to keep the focus up offensively on Wednesday.” The Flames will host Tennessee Temple in a single nine-inning game scheduled for a 6 p.m. start.

NAIA releases

host sites

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has released the list of host sites for the fifth annual NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round, the national office announced Monday.

The event will be played May 9-13 and features nine five-team double elimination tournaments. The 45 qualifiers and brackets for the National Championship Opening Round will be announced on May 5.

Oklahoma City, Lee and Embry-Riddle headline the group, each hosting its fifth-straight Opening Round. All three host teams have advanced to the NAIA World Series in each of the four previous seasons.

“It’s a great opportunity for our team and our community to host this event for the fifth consecutive year," said Lee head coach Mark Brew. "We had a goal to be ranked high enough to host the event and I am proud our team has accomplished that small step."

Brew added, "It says a lot about what the NAIA thinks about our past runs with the tournament. They know our institution and this community will do a great job with the event and it will be a positive experience for all the student-athletes from the participants in the tournament. We are excited now to see how our season progresses and we want to be playing well as a team as we close in on the May 9-13 dates.”

This year’s first-time hosts are: Faulkner, Rogers State and The Master’s.

The Appalachian Athletic Conference, Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference and William Carey round out the remainder of the Opening Round sites. Both the AAC and CCAC are hosting for the third time, while William Carey is holding the event for the second time.

The Opening Round site selection process takes into account geography, facilities, student-athlete experience and host qualification. In the event that a selected bid is tied directly to an institution, that school is guaranteed at least an at-large host berth in the Opening Round. The application deadline for bids was April 1.

The nine Opening Round champions join host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) to make up the field at the 2013 Avista-NAIA World Series at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho, May 24-31.