Qualifying petitions for May 6 primary are in, Thursday last day to withdraw
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Feb 23, 2014 | 954 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Candidates for the upcoming May 6 Primary have until Thursday at noon to withdraw from the races and not have their names placed on the ballot.

The number of potential candidates for the August 2014 Primary continues to build as well, and this past Thursday was the final day potential candidates for the May Primary could turn in their qualifying petitions.

Bradley County Elections officials have been busy making sure signatures on petitions are valid, said Mimi Angel, deputy elections administrator.

Officials are also still busy taking requests for absentee “by-mail” ballots.

Petitions for the May 6 Primary received at the Bradley County Elections Office include:

- Constable —

District 1:

Ronald Arthur, Darrin Brantley, George E. Campbell, Charles V. Carroll, Donnie R. Hughes, Thomas Kimsey and Garry D. Moore.

District 2:

Richard “Dickie” Alford.

District 3:

Jason Corum and Jessie Hughes Jr..

District 4:

Kevin D. Crye and Wayne J. Henry.

District 5:

Steve Anderson and John Miller.

District 6:

Charles Dunson Sr., Doyle Cody Herron, Dewayne Hicks, Jeffrey A. Lewis.

District 7: 

R.D. Jackson and Brent Runyon.

- Circuit Court Clerk —

Gayla Miller

- Circuit Judge —

Part 1: 

Larry Puckett

Part 2:

Mike Sharp

Part 3:

William J. Brown and Andrew Freiberg.

- County Clerk —

Donna Alley Simpson

- County Commission —

District 1:

Glenn Cantrell, Terry Caywood, Denis L. Collins, Tom Collins, Mike Hughes, Terry Daniel McDowell and Jimmy Smith.

District 2: 

Louie Alford, Elmer Jackie Buckner, John Burns, William Glen Campbell, Thomas L. Crye, Aaron A. Hyden, Jimmy Lynn Kendrick and Tammy Salmond Wingo.

District 3:

Milan Blake, David F. Kelley, Jeff D. Morelock and Johnny Mull.

District 4:

Charlotte Peak Jones, June L. Montgomery, Bartlee E. Norton, Carol T. “Peaches” Searles and Howard L. Thompson.

District 5:

Douglas K. Bennett, Briant K. Berry, Jack E. Burke Jr., Teresa V. Cline, Bobby Joe Goins, Bloyde Wade Jr. and Jeff Yarber.

District 6:

John David Cochran, Melvin Griffith, Ronny E. Keller, Ellis Julian Laughter, Tom D. Ledford, Daniel D. Rawls and Robert D. Rominger.

District 7:

Pam Edgemon, Mark Hall and William E. (Bill) Winters Jr.

- County Mayor —

Christopher J. Davis and D. Gary Davis

- Criminal Court Judge 10th Judicial District —

Sandran N. Donaghy and Amy Armstrong Reedy.

- District Attorney General —

Steve Crump and Stephen Hatchett.

- General Sessions Judge —

Division 1:

Daniel R. Swafford

Division 2:

Barrett T. Painter, Sheridan C. Randolph and Shari Lynn Tayloe.

- Public Defender —

Richard Hughes

- Register of Deeds —

Dina Swafford

- Road Superintendent —

Steve W. Bullins, Robert L. Combs, Randall D. Davis, Sandra N. Knight and James “Edd” Lewis.

- Trustee —

Mike Smith

- Sheriff —

James Richard Ruth and Eric Watson.

A number of these races could be determined on May 6, due to some candidates not having Democratic or Independent opposition.

Key dates for potential candidates to remember are:

- Feb. 27, 2014 — Final day for potential May Primary candidates to withdraw.

- April 3, 2014 — Noon deadline to turn petition paperwork back to the Bradley County Election Commission regarding August Primary.

Other key dates for voters include:

- April 16 through May 1, 2014 — Early Voting will be held Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

- April 7, 2014 — Last day to register to vote for the May 6 County Primary.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections .com.