Election petition deadline nearing
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Feb 19, 2014 | 1221 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Fran Green
Fran Green
The list of potential candidates for the August 2014 Primary continues to grow as the deadline nears for candidates in the May 6 Primary.

Qualifying petitions for May 6 candidates must be turned in to the Bradley County Elections Office by noon Thursday, according to Elections Administrator Fran Green. Feb. 27 is the date set for those candidates to withdraw from the election process.

The Bradley County Elections Office is also taking requests for absentee “by-mail” ballots.

Two Charleston City Council seats are also on the August ballot.

Walter Goode is seeking another four-year term while Francis McCartney is looking to win the seat he was appointed to recently after Councilman Larry Anderson vacated the post. That vote will be held to fill the unexpired term.

Charlie McKenzie is seeking re-election to Cleveland City Council District 1, as is Bill Estes, who represents District 2.

Jonathan Porter and Richard Lee Banks have picked up petition paperwork for Cleveland City Council At-Large.

In the Cleveland City School Board elections, Dawn Robinson, District 3, Peggy Pesterfield, District 4, Thomas Cloud, District 5, have also picked up paperwork.

Richard J. Shaw and Charlie Cogdill are interested in the Cleveland Board of Education At-Large post.

The Bradley County School Board will also be voted on in August.

Vicki Beaty has picked up petition paperwork for District 2 while Troy Weathers, the incumbent District 4 member could be joined by Dianna Ball Calfee.

Christine Critchfield, also an incumbent in District 6, will be joined by Tammy A. Magouirk.

Dan Howell and J. Adam Lowe are seeking the Tennessee House of Representatives District 22 seat while Kevin Brooks has picked up paperwork seeking re-election to the House of Representatives District 24 seat.

Jimmy Wayne Bilbo and John Stanberry are vying for State Executive Committeman District 9. These are State Primary races held in August.

Slated for the May 6 Primary are: 10th District Chancellor, 10th District Criminal Court Judge, 10th District District Attorney General, Public Defender, County Mayor, County Commission, County Trustee, General Sessions Judges Division One and Two, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Road Superintendent, County School Board Districts 2, 4 and 6, and Constables in all districts.

Possible candidates who have picked up petition paperwork for the May 6 Primary are:

- Constable —

District 1

Ronald Arthur, Darrin Brantley, George E. Campbell, Charles V. Carroll, Donnie R. Hughes, Thomas Kimsey, Garry D. Moore.

District 2

Richard “Dickie” Alford.

District 3

Jason Corum, Jessie Hughes Jr.

District 4

Kevin D. Crye, Wayne J. Henry.

District 5

Steve Anderson, John Miller.

District 6

Charles Dunson Sr., Doyle Cody Herron, Dewayne Hicks, Jeffrey A. Lewis.

District 7

R.D. Jackson, James Edward Lewis, Brent Runyon.

- Circuit Court Clerk

Gayla Miller

- Circuit Judge Part 1

Larry Puckett

Part 2

Mike Sharp

Part 3

William J. Brown, Andrew Freiberg.

- County Clerk

Donna Alley Simpson

- County Commission

District 1

Glenn Cantrell, Terry Caywood, Denis L. Collins, Tom Collins, Mike Hughes, Terry Daniel McDowell, Jimmy Smith.

District 2

Louie Alford, Elmer Jackie Buckner, John Burns, William Glen Campbell, Thomas L. Crye, Aaron A. Hyden, Jimmy Lynn Kendrick, Tammy Salmond Wingo.

District 3

Milan Blake, David F. Kelley, Jeff D. Morelock, Johnny Mull.

District 4

Charlotte Peak-Jones, June L. Montgomery, Bartlee E. Norton, Carol T. “Peaches” Searles, Howard L. Thompson.

District 5

Douglas K. Bennett, Briant K. Berry, Jack E. Burke Jr., Teresa V. Cline, Bobby Joe Goins, Bloyde Wade Jr., Jeff Yarber.

District 6

John David Cochran, Melvin Griffith, Ronny E. Keller, Ellis Julian Laughter, Tom D. Ledford, Daniel D. Rawls, Robert D. Rominger.

District 7

Pam Edgemon, Mark Hall, William E. (Bill) Winters Jr.

- County Mayor

Christopher J. Davis, D. Gary Davis

- Criminal Court Judge 10th Judicial District

Sandran N. Donaghy, Amy Armstrong Reedy.

- District Attorney General — 10th Judicial District

Steve Crump, Stephen Hatchett.

- General Sessions Judge

Division 1

Daniel R. Swafford

Division 2

Barrett T. Painter, Sheridan C. Randolph, Shari Lynn Tayloe.

- Public Defender

Richard Hughes

- Register of Deeds

Dina Swafford

- Road Superintendent

Steve W. Bullins, Robert L. Combs, Randall D. Davis, Sandra N. Knight, James “Edd” Lewis.

- Trustee

Mike Smith

- Sheriff

James Richard Ruth, Eric Watson.

A number of these races could be determined May 6, if candidates are uncontested.

Key dates for potential candidates to remember are:

- Thursday’s noon deadline for May Primary.

- Feb. 27, 2014 — Final day for potential May Primary candidates to withdraw.

- April 3, 2014 — Noon deadline to turn petition paperwork back to the Bradley County Election Commission regarding August Primary.

Other key dates for voters include:

- April 16, May 1, 2014 — Early Voting will be held Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and on Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

- April 7, 2014 — Last day to register to vote for the May 6 County Primary.

Additional information can be found at www.bradleyelections.com.