Early voting begins on Wednesday
by GREG KAYLOR Banner Staff Writer
Apr 13, 2014 | 1415 views | 0 0 comments | 31 31 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A public inspection of voting machines was completed, new registrations looked over and qualifying petitions for the August State Primary and County General Elections were approved during this week’s Bradley County Elections Office meeting.

Also, election day workers have been approved by the Bradley County Election Commission.

Early voting begins Wednesday.

According to Bradley County Elections Administrator Fran Green, three polling sites for early voting will open at 9 a.m. and end daily at 6 p.m.

The sites will be closed on Good Friday.

Voters can also cast their ballots on Saturdays, beginning at 9 a.m., until 4 p.m.

Green said three early voting sites have been secured. They are The Gallery at Sterling Pointe, located at 2544 Dalton Pike; Bradley Square Mall Suite 400; and the Bradley County Election Commission Office, located in the Courthouse Annex.

Early voting will end May 1. The primary will be held on May 6. Polls for voting day will open at 8 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

The upcoming sheriff’s race, the District Attorney General’s race, road superintendent, division judges, county school board seats, county clerk, circuit court clerk, constables, county mayor, public defender and register of deeds will be on ballot.

A number of the offices will be determined on May 6.

Following the May Primary, the August General and State elections will determine the candidates who are opposed and a few non-partisan primary candidates selected.

Appearing on the ballot will be:

- Constable —

District 1

Darrin Brantley (R), Charles V. Carroll (R), Thomas Kimsey (R), Garry D. Moore (R).

District 2

Richard “Dickie” Alford (R).

District 3

Jason Corum (R), Jessie Hughes Jr. (R)

District 4

Wayne J. Henry (R).

District 5

Steve Anderson (R), Johnny Miller (R).

District 6

Charles Dunson Sr. (R), Cody Herron (R), Dewayne Hicks (R), Jeffrey Lewis (R).

District 7

R.D. Jackson (R), Brent Runyon (R).

- Circuit Court Clerk

Gayla Miller (R)

- Circuit Judge Part 1

Larry Puckett (R)

Part 2

Mike Sharp (R)

Part 3

William J.(Bill) Brown (R), Andrew Mark Freiberg (R), and Chai Thompson (R), who filed in Monroe Co.

- County Clerk

Donna Alley Simpson (R).

- Chancellor

Jerri Saunders Bryant (R), who filed in McMinn Co.

- County Commission

District 1

Terry Caywood (R), Denis L. Collins (R), Tom Collins (R), Mike Hughes (R).

District 2

Louie Alford (R), John Burns (R), Thomas L. Crye (R), Tammy Salmond Wingo (R).

District 3

Milan Blake (R), Jeff D. Morelock (D), Johnny Mull (R).

District 4

Charlotte Peak Jones (R), June L. Montgomery (R), Carol “Peaches” Searles (R), Howard L. Thompson (R).

District 5

Briant K. Berry (R), Jack E. Burke Jr. (D), Bobby Goins (R) Floyd Wade Jr. (R), Jeff Yarber (R).

District 6

John David Cochran (R), Melvin “Mel” Griffith (R), Ronny E. Keller (R), Ellis Julian Laughter (D), Tom D. Ledford (R), Daniel D. Rawls (R), Robert D. Rominger (R).

District 7

Pam Edgemon (D), Mark Hall (R), William E. (Bill) Winters Jr (R).

- County Mayor

D. Gary Davis (R)

- Criminal Court Judge 10th Judicial District

Sandra N.C. Donaghy (R), Amy Armstrong Reedy (D), and Van Irion (R), who filed in Monroe Co.

- District Attorney General

Steve Crump (R), Stephen Hatchett (R), who filed in McMinn Co.

- General Sessions Judge

Division 1

Daniel R. Swafford (R)

Division 2

Barrett T. Painter (R), Sheridan C. Randolph (R), Shari Lynn Tayloe (R).

- Public Defender

Richard Hughes (R)

- Register of Deeds

Dina Swafford (R)

- Road Superintendent

Sandra N. Knight (R), James “Edd” Lewis (R).

- Trustee

Mike Smith (R)

- Sheriff

James Richard Ruth (R), Eric Watson (R).

According to Green, election day workers are to attend instruction prior to the May 6 Primary.

A School of Instruction will be held for Election Day workers on April 29 at 6:30 p.m. in the Bradley County Commission Courtroom at the Bradley County Courthouse.

For additional information, visit www.bradleyelections.com.