College Briefs 6-30
Jun 30, 2013 | 401 views | 0 0 comments | 60 60 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Smeltzer named to honor

roll at Bethel University

MCKENZIE – Lauren Elizabeth Smeltzer of Charleston was named to the honor roll at Bethel University for spring semester 2013.

To qualify for the Honor Roll, a traditional student must have an average of 3.70 or above for 12 or more simultaneous academic hours with no grade below C.

Headquartered in McKenzie, Bethel University is affiliated with the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and offers bachelor’s, master’s and associate degree programs through a variety of learning platforms. For more information about Bethel, go to

ETSU bestows nearly 1,800 degrees at commencement

JOHNSON CITY – East Tennessee State University conferred nearly 1,800 degrees in two spring commencement ceremonies, one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

Among these were the following from Cleveland: Maggi L. Hines, bachelor of arts- anthropology; Carly M. Louderback, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Terrance R. McDermott, bachelor of science-physics; Jennifer D. Muncy, bachelor of science in nursing; Jacob M. Poole, bachelor of science-biology; Cason L. Suits, bachelor of science-early childhood development; Geneva M. Ware, bachelor of science in nursing; Andreas N. Westfield, bachelor of science-interdisciplinary Studies; Ross W. Yost, bachelor of science-biology.

Kelsey R. Morton of McDonald, bachelor of science in nursing; and Andrew D. Sorah of Calhoun, bachelor of science-health Sciences also graduated

In addition to awarding bachelors, masters, and educational specialist (Ed.S.) degrees, as well as graduate certificates, ETSU bestowed doctor of education (Ed.D.), doctor of public health (Dr.P.H.), doctor of physical therapy (D.P.T.), doctor of audiology (Aud.D.), doctor of nursing practice (D.N.P.) and doctor of philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees on successful candidates.

The featured speakers were Dr. Philip Bagnell, retiring this July as dean of ETSU’s James H. Quillen College of Medicine, who spoke at the morning ceremony, and Mike Smith, ETSU alumnus and coach of the Atlanta Falcons, who spoke in the afternoon.

The Distinguished Faculty Marshals for the ceremony were Dr. John Yao, recipient of the 2012 ETSU Distinguished Faculty Award in Research, and Dr. Rosalind Gann, recipient of the 2012 ETSU Distinguished Faculty Award in Service. The Mace Bearer was Forsman, recipient of the 2012 ETSU Distinguished Faculty Award in Teaching.