College Briefs
Jun 17, 2013 | 918 views | 0 0 comments | 41 41 recommendations | email to a friend | print
ETSU names Casey Owenby as McKinstry Scholarship recipient

JOHNSON CITY — East Tennessee State University has announced Casey Owenby as the recipient of a $1,000 Dr. Sam and Carolee McKinstry Scholarship for the 2013-14 academic year.

The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student preparing for a law career and is provided by Dr. Sam McKinstry, who began teaching political science at ETSU in 1974 and retired as faculty emeritus in 2009, and his wife, Carolee McKinstry.

Owenby is a senior majoring in mass communications. She is president of the Carter-Stone Residence Halls Council, is a member of the National Residence Hall Honorary, and was a member of the 125 Committee Student Round Table Luncheon representing the Department of Housing and Residence Life. In addition to studying broadcasting, she is the news anchor and a production team member for BucTV News and has served as president and vice president of the Alpha Sigma Iota broadcasting fraternity. A resident adviser in Carter-Stone Halls, she is also a student worker in the Department of Geosciences. She is the daughter of Chris and Tammy Owenby of Cleveland and a member of the Cleveland’s Wesley Memorial United Methodist Church.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville releases spring 2013 dean’s list

The University of Tennessee recently announced the dean’s list for spring 2013.

Students recognized from Cleveland include Amanda R. Atkins, Summa Cum Laude; Shelby R. Calfee, Cum Laude; Andrew M. Collier, Cum Laude; Robert K. Connell, Summa Cum Laude; Izabella T. Dasilva, Magna Cum Laude; Gabrielle E. Earby, Magna Cum Laude; Brooke A. Epperson, Magna Cum Laude; Adam D. Harris, Cum Laude; Samuel L. Hoops, Summa Cum Laude; Stephanie S. Jensen, Summa Cum Laude; Catherine C. Jordan, Summa Cum Laude; Nathan J. Kiser, Cum Laude; Aleksander Klibisz, Magna Cum Laude; Hannah E. Long, Summa Cum Laude; Beverly L. Mazza, Magna Cum Laude; Drew M. Mcclendon, Summa Cum Laude; Brooke E. Miller, Magna Cum Laude; Madison D. Moreland, Summa Cum Laude; Richard G. Ness, Magna Cum Laude; Cassy M. Parker, Magna Cum Laude; Jeffrey K. Rymer, Summa Cum Laude; Saumya R. Shah, Cum Laude; Rossman H. Tarver, Cum Laude; Barrett N. Thompson, Summa Cum Laude; Rachel D. Townsend, Cum Laude; Noah R. Tuten, Cum Laude; and Yao Zhao, Magna Cum Laude.

Student from Charleston include Kelly P. Feehrer, Summa Cum Laude; William H. Hooper, Summa Cum Laude; and Neva P. Lemoine, Summa Cum Laude.

To qualify for the UTK dean’s list, an undergraduate student must earn a term GPA of 3.80–4.00 (summa cum laude), 3.65–3.79 (magna cum laude), or 3.50–3.64 (cum laude). Students must complete at least 12 credit hours, not counting work taken on a satisfactory/no-credit basis, to be eligible.

ETSU names 2013 Retirees Association Scholarship winners

JOHNSON CITY — The East Tennessee State University Retirees Association funds $500 Dr. Mack P. Davis Scholarships for ETSU students. Among those selected as recipients for the 2013-14 academic year:

Jasmine Martin, a 2013 graduate of Cleveland High School, is the daughter of Billy and Tina Massingale of Cleveland.

Hannah Calhoun of Elizabethton, a 2013 graduate of Hampton High School, plans to major in mathematics. She also received an academic performance scholarship. Her parents are Dwayne and Anna Calhoun of Elizabethton.

Christian Watson, son of Kevin and Rachel Watson of Bluff City, plans to major in mathematics. He is a 2013 graduate of Sullivan East High School, where he was a member of the National Honor Society and Beta Club and was named Fellowship of Christian Athletes “Athlete of the Year.” He is a member of Poplar Ridge Christian Church and a Child Evangelism Fellowship Counselor.