Club Notes: FCE members honored for leadership, volunteer service
Feb 13, 2013 | 588 views | 0 0 comments | 1 1 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Bradley County FCE  Participation Program encourages members to participate at the local, region and state scheduled FCE events. The Taylors FCE members recognized for completing the most accumulated points for the 2012 year were, from left ,Mary Bagley, Pauline Cartwright, Doreen Johnson, Oleta Ownby and Virgie Toomey
view slideshow (6 images)
The Family and Community Education clubs of Bradley County recently held the annual Valentine’s Recognition Banquet at the UT Extension-Bradley County building. The event was held to honor FCE Club officers and award recipients for work completed in 2012.

Cathy Shreve, 2012 FCE County Council president and member of the Prospectors FCE, presented the awards. The officers of 2012 included FCE Council President Cathy Shreve (Prospectors), Secretary JoAnn Wrinkle (Creekwood), and Treasurer Jean Cross (Creekwood) as well as 2012 FCE club presidents: Pat Turner (Flint Springs), Patricia Pierce (Inquirers), Jean Cross (Creekwood), Cathy Shreve (Prospectors) and Oleta Ownby (Taylors).

Kaye Smith, Extension agent and FCE advisor, introduced the special guests. The annual auction was held to provide funds for FCE Community Service projects and the Bradley County 4-H History Fair. The Flint Springs FCE members provided leadership for the auction.

Cross, Brenda T. Park Derryberry and Phyllis Narus were recognized for serving as members of the TAFCE Alumni. Jean was also recognized for her attendance at all 31 of the state TAFCE annual conferences and recipient of the state TAFCE Heart of FCE Award.

Bradley County FCE members who received the Certified Volunteer Unit recognition for completion of 500 hours of Community Service within a three year period included Phyllis Narus (Prospectors), and Linda Humphreys and Pat Turner (both Flint Springs).

Cross was recognized for receiving a first place at Eastern Region TAFCE Creative Writing contest with her Creative Writing entry titled “Others.” Derryberry was recognized for placing first place at the Eastern Region FCE Cultural Arts competition and third place at the state TAFCE competition with her Weaving-Loom entry.

The FCE Members recognized for participation in the FCE Reading Program included Ruby Ball (Taylors) for reading 182 books in 2012. Others in the program included Carol McClellan (Creekwood), 118 books; Doreen Johnson (Taylors), 82 books; Betty Morrow, 38 books (Flint Springs), Retha Odom (Taylors), 36 books; Bennie Jenkins (Taylors), 30 books; Cathy Shreve (Prospectors), 30 books; Virgie Toomey (Taylors), 27 books; Barbara Peterson (Creekwood), 23 books; Virginia Orr (Inquirers), 22 books, Patty Callaway (Inquirers), 19 books; Cathy Besing (Taylors), 18 books, Susan Lackey (Inquirers) 15 books; Judy Varnell (Inquirers) 11 books; Debbie Huffstetler (Inquirers), 9 books; LaVerne Easterly (Inquirers ), 6 books; Judy Watts (Inquirers), 5 books; Peggy Pesterfield (Inquirers), 4 books; and Rachel Savage (Inquirers), 2 books.

A related project, the Books for Newborns, is a major community service project of Bradley County FCE members.

The FCE Participation Program is a record of the FCE activities that members participated in throughout the past year. Creekwood FCE members who were recognized for the TAFCE Participation Program included Jean Cross, Jo Ann Wrinkle and Carol McClellan.

Taylors FCE members recognized with the FCE Participation Recognition included Mary Bagley, Pauline Cartwright, Mary Ann Cornelius, Ruby Ball, Doreen Johnson, Oleta Ownby and Virgie Toomey.

Prospectors FCE Club members recognized in the FCE Participation Program included Cathy Shreve, Phyllis Narus, Ann Gray, Brenda Park Derryberry, Cyndi Tinsley, Cindy Park, Patti Bradshaw and Linda Simpler. Flint Springs FCE members recognized in the FCE participation program included Sherry Casteel, Linda Humphreys, Pat Turner and Dot Eslinger.

Inquirers FCE members recognized with the FCE Participation Program included the following: Beth Bird, Patty Callaway, Phyllis Callaway, Bene Deacon, LaVerne Easterly, Nell Edwards, Robbin Harper, Shelley Haggler, Debbie Huffstetler, Roseann Killen, Susan Lackey, Mary Ann Lowe, Carolyn Masoud, Lusia McDarius, Virginia Orr, Gail Pesterfield, Peggy Pesterfield, Margaret Ann Randolph, Crystal Rymer, Rachel Savage, Alexis Sellins, Marcia St. John, Judy Watts, Judy Varnell and Vicki Wheeler,

Members recognized for the Bring-A-Buddy program included Cathy Shreve (Prospectors), Mary Bagley (Taylors), Pauline Cartwright (Taylors), Cynthia Tinsley (Prospectors), Virgie Toomey (Taylors). Jean Cross (Wildwood), Jeri Ervin (Flint Springs) and Phyllis Narus (Prospectors). This program recognizes FCE members who “Bring a Buddy” or recruit new members to the program.

Clubs with added responsibility for the awards program included the Taylors FCE Club who decorated for the event and Flint Springs FCE who conducted the auction.

The Creekwood FCE club was responsible for the program. Taylors FCE Club members assisted with the meal service. All FCE clubs provided auction items.

For more information about the Bradley County Family and Community Education Clubs, contact the UT Extension – Bradley County office at 728-7001.