Scott, Triplett do it again
by By JOE CANNON Assistant Sports Editor
Jul 19, 2013 | 1290 views | 0 0 comments | 20 20 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Ladies Golf
MAGGIE SCOTT, center, holds the winner’s trophy after topping the field in the Ladies City Golf Championship, which concluded Thursday at Cleveland Country Club. Linda Mullins, left, took second and Kay McDaniel finished in third. Banner photo, RICHARD ROBERTS
view slideshow (4 images)

For the 33rd time in 55 years, Maggie Scott’s name will be inscribed on the Ladies City Championship trophy, but for just the second of those times, her score was not the event’s lowest.

While the retired county school teacher once again held off longtime friend Linda Mullins by a single shot for the Ladies crown, 18-year-old Tennessee Tech signee Lydia Triplett edged Scott by a stroke in claiming the Connie Day Cup to win the Junior Division.

After an opening round 2-over 74 at the Chatata Valley Golf Club Wednesday, Scott slipped to an 81 on her home course at the Cleveland Country Club Thursday, but still edged Mullins with a 155 tally for the title.

“It was ugly but I eked it out,” declared Scott, who has had limited playing time this summer. “I started out (on Thursday) with a birdie and then up-and-down pars on 2 and 3, but then it went downhill from there. My concentration wasn’t what it should have been. I haven’t been able to play much this year and you could tell I really needed the practice.”

Mullins, who owns five city titles herself, showed her consistency shooting 6-over 78s on both courses, while former professional tennis player Kay McDaniel posted a 78-82 — 160 for third place in the Championship Flight.

A two-time TSSAA all-state performer and flight winner at last year’s Tennessee Women’s Amateur, Triplett was just two shots behind Scott after the opening 18 and then matched Mullins for the best round Thursday, giving her low-medalist honors for the event with a 76-78 — 154.

“Lydia played great,” praised Scott. “Linda (Mullins) said Sara Grantham beat us one year (2006 when the former Ole Miss linkster shot a 136), but we think that is the only other time the Junior winner had the overall low score.”

A Polk County High School standout, Triplett captured her fourth straight City Junior title by a 10-stroke margin as Cleveland High’s Heidi Barringer earned runner-up honors with an 83-81 — 164.

After battling on the middle school level this past season, Cleveland Middle’s Rheagan Hall (81-88 — 169) rallied past Ocoee Middle standout Kelsey Cassada (80-91 — 171) for third place in the Junior Championship Flight final standings.

In the girls’ First Flight competition, Danielle Bates, who played at Chilhowee Middlem edged OMS’s Olivia Williams 183-184 for the title, while Whitney Kincaid captured third place.

Former Walker Valley linkster Cortnee Young was tops in the ladies First Flight with an 83-81 — 164, while Bradley Central Bearette basketball legend Rita Hannah carded an 81-87 — 168. Debbie Patterson shot 182 for third place honors.

Deloris Haynie rallied to take top honors in the Second Flight, edging opening round leader Robin Russell 179-181. Donna Anderson claimed third place.

It was another tight battle for the Third Flight crown as Judy Ozawa held off Lorine Lorino by a single stroke while Honey Climer finished third.

Missing the City tournament just once (in 2009, due to a foot injury), this year’s event marked Scott’s 43rd, with her first city title coming in 1973 when she was still Maggie Allison.

The Ladies City Championship dates began in 1958 with Malinda Rymer becoming the first champion. Rymer also won in 1960.

The late Connie Day captured seven City championships, getting the majority of those in succession from 1961 through 1964. She also won in 1959 and 1966. Day didn’t compete in the City championship from 1967 through 1994, before playing once again in 1995 and winning her final title in 1996.

Virginia Taylor won her only title in 1965. Jo Day, Connie’s mother won in 1969, 1970, and 1974. Her close friend, Berta Gibson won titles in 1967, 1968, 1971 and 1972. Pat Safriet won a sudden-death playoff over Scott in 1987, and Mullins won in 1992, 1993, 2000, 2008 and 2009.

In 1995, Connie Day started the junior division for girls 14 to 18 years of age. She wanted to encourage these junior golfers to compete with other girls in the Ladies City Tournament.

The girls compete for the Connie Day Cup in this junior competition. Cindy Copeland was the first winner, and other winners include Amy Mullins, Sam Briatico, Grantham and Chelsea Rakestraw.